Profile photo of a State Farm Agent named: Billy Upton

State Farm® Insurance Agent Billy Upton

Rating: 4.2 stars out of 5 (44 reviews)

Leave Us a Review

Our customers are the center of our universe and we’re grateful for them. If you’re willing to share your experience about your interaction with our agency, it’ll be a great help for other people looking to make smart and confident decisions about their insurance and financial services.


Take 60 seconds (or more if you want) to share your story by clicking on one of the review links below.

What our customers say about us...

Billy

August 24, 2022

1  out of  5
"We were with them for over 17 years. Because I am a loyal person. I only filed two claims other than car claims. We were insurance poor lol. One was on a claim for my house for hail damage. unbeknown to me there was a hurricane clause added to the policy with a 12,000 deductible, I fixed the roof myself it was cheaper. The second claim was for a mobile home on my property. When we first moved in (2007) it was used as storage. Then my son moved into the mobile home, at that time I communicated to the agent what was going on. I had informed the agent when my son moved into the mobile home in 2008. That i was going to be using the mobile home as rental property at that time. I have had several insurance reviews after that, because after the roof issue on one of my homes I spoke about earlier. In that time the agent (Billy Upton) had some of his personnel change. We had insurance on everything we had through them. IE; 2 cars, 2 motorcycles,2 houses, a camper and a mobile home. I also have had three sons grow up in that time span. i paid monthly auto insurance sometimes as high as 750.00 a month The mobile home was damaged in a high wind storm in 2018 It had 5 trees go through it. I put in the claim and had the adjuster come out. He, not the insurance agent informed me that I only had coverage for a storage on the Mobile Home. (2018) I told her ( the Agent) that I was renting the home out. I was told since I was renting the Mobile home out not using it as storage that I had no coverage and they State farm said I had no claim. 17 years all my insurance through this agent. Do you really think I never told her that I was renting the Mobile home. I was also renting the home next to it out. which they said that they showed that as being a rental property but not the Mobile home. Long story short I ended up loosing the Mobile home valued at 34,000. I had tp pay 6000 for a company to come cut it up and haul it away. State Farm also threatened to cancel my insurance on the house next to it if I didn't hall it away by a certain time. The agent stated that I never told her that I was using the Mobile home for rental purposes since 2008. it was damaged in 2018 All in all state farm cost me over 40,000 dollars plus the loss of revenue. We are no longer with Snake Farm and never will be again."

Karen Hilton-Clarke

May 8, 2022

5  out of  5
"I must share the wonderful experience I had recently with State Farm concerning a substantial claim for repairs to my car. For 18 years I held auto insurance with Billy Upton's State Farm's office in Douglasville, Georgia and have always received excellent service. However, with this last car repair claim, the response I received from State Farm was exceptionally great from start to finish. They quickly took care of all my needs including my car rental making a difficult situation easy to bear. I should mention I also have my homeowners insurance with State Farm and I am a very happy customer. K. Hilton-Clarke"

Jane McCravy

September 16, 2021

5  out of  5
"We have been customers of Billy Upton's State Farm for 27+ years and are really happy with the service we receive from all the Staff especially Gladys Norris. She has been really helpful with a claim that we were not having any success with the claims reps. Gladys is really a great asset to us and to State Farm. We would highly recommend them to Others."

Gerald T. Hust

April 2, 2021

5  out of  5
"A few months ago I discovered an error in payments made to State Farm by my banking establishment. I contacted Billy Upton's office to request a refund. Billy asked his office manager, Gladys Norris, to assist me. Gladys was very diligent and caring and pursued this matter over a number of weeks. The error went back over five years. Gladys succeeded in obtaining for me a full refund. This result far exceeded my expectations. Thank you Gladys for caring so much and working so hard for your customer."

Brandon Priest

January 14, 2021

5  out of  5
"Friendly an perfessional. They will make sure you save on your insurance needs..."

Russell Mauldin

November 11, 2020

5  out of  5
"Friendly staff! Very helpful and patient"

Bill Upton

February 2, 2020

5  out of  5
"This guy is awesome! Been an agent for 48ish years and still personally handling his business. Full staff of dedicated agents to help you. Every time I go in, Billy treats me like a son."

Karen Dobbs

January 24, 2020

5  out of  5
"The staff is always sweet and treat me like family."

Joyce Wilson

January 13, 2020

5  out of  5
"Everyone is very friendly! They take care of all of my commercial auto policies as well as my personal home and auto. They always respond quickly! Great service!!"

James Saffo

January 4, 2020

5  out of  5
"Bill Upton is the best insurance agent in West Atlanta. My family have been insured with State Farm and Mr. Upton for almost three decades. The staff is the best and I have been helped tremendously by this agency."

Theresa Gregory

November 12, 2019

5  out of  5
"Billy is great! He helped me with switching to state farm insurance and also helped me with knowledge of our house insurance. I highly recommend his services!"

Ralph Harper

August 17, 2019

4  out of  5
"The ladies are very nice and knowledgeable."

Wendy Price

July 31, 2019

5  out of  5
"I've been with Billy Upton State Farm since 1976. He has taken care of me and my family for years. The best insurance agent in the country for my money! I've had other agents in CA, etc and none compared. Thank you Billy and team, especially Sherry!!"

madeline

April 1, 2019

5  out of  5
"People so friendly"

Karen Lingefelt

February 6, 2019

5  out of  5
"We love Mr Upton state farm he has helped us for many years"

Brenda Dameron

February 27, 2018

5  out of  5
"I’ve been using Billy Upton’s State Farm office for over 25 years. They are very personable and knowledgeable about any questions I’ve ever had regarding insurance And go out of their way to provide excellent customer service."

Cameron W

January 4, 2018

1  out of  5
"I have been with this office for a few years now without any problems until recently. One of my discounts were removed from my policy and I was charged for it. I called the office to inquire what happened, and after days of calling back and forth, there was no fault of my own, and the discount was reapplied. Even though the discount was reapplied to my policy, I was charged an "correction fee". I am not sure why I am expected to pay for their mistake! I spoke to Mr. Upton regarding this incident, and he assured me he would "get to the bottom of it" and return my call... five days later... no call back yet."

Angie Freda

April 10, 2017

1  out of  5
"These people act nice and then screw you over. They will never have my business again. They say one thing then tell someone else different. They tell you its your fault and that you or another customer is lying when you witnessed them saying it. Worst customer service i have ever experienced. I also stopped recieving a bill from them 6 months ago and have informed then of the problem and they still have yet to send one"

Sylvia J

May 24, 2016

5  out of  5
"SUPERIOR - Billy Upton is by far the best State Farm Agent in the state of Georgia. His staff is seasoned. Well versed. Caring and intelligent. Call his office for all your insurance needs!"

Rick Milliron

May 13, 2016

5  out of  5
"EXCELLENT!!!! That's the best I can about Billy Upton and his staff. They handle everything with efficiency and diligence. No matter the need or the hour. They truly "got you covered""

Tray Anderson

May 5, 2016

1  out of  5
"run...run now! I don't think i've met a more terrible human being"

Robin Johnson

April 30, 2016

5  out of  5
"What a great bunch of folks to deal with. I have all my auto, life and homeowners with them. If I ever have questions they are always able to help, especially Diane."

Ronald Vickery

March 10, 2016

5  out of  5
"I switched from Safe Auto to State Farm about a year ago, after getting a quote from Billy Upton State Farm. I hit a deer on Big A Rd. on my way to work one morning and Safe Auto really did a number on me. Mr. Upton got me a multi line discount by adding $20k of renter's insurance to my car insurance, all while saving me $40 a month over Safe Auto. Plus my deductibles went from $1000 & $1000 down to $500 collision and $100 comprehensive. All those savings with more insurance/better coverage. I deal with Diane any time I have any questions or concerns about my policies and she is always SO helpful. She's a very sweet lady. I've always known that State Farm was a very good insurance company (my grandparents always carried State Farm. And an older gentleman who was covered by State Farm once ran into me and totaled my car), but I always figured that they were expensive because they were so good. They will actually do a "discount double check", like the commercial says, and try to save you as much money as possible. You can definitely tell that the people over at Billy Upton State Farm care. They even called me to wish me a happy birthday. I'll be sticking with State Farm."

jennifer munford

October 18, 2013

1  out of  5
"Billy Upton's company has an insurance agent named Debby.Not only did Debbie quote me one price of 106.00 a month which i was fine with, but the second month being with them our bank was drafted 176.00 without notice.Their office never called or mailed me saying they were raising my rates due to the fact several yrs ago there was an accident on my old policy with Geico. I wasn't the driver, my ex husband was the driver. After clearing things up and clearing my name they are still giving me the run around with refunding my money.So the way this small office conducts business on their new clients really sucks and gives them a bad name. Its been a month, as promised id get my money and they sent me a check for 25.88 not the 176.00 i am owed. Im still waiting.... Id say stay away from these people and their small independent office. In my opinion if you take something with out asking you are a thief, so in my eyes this company doesn't represent state farm very well. They are thieves, they took an amount of money from me with out notifying or asking me. Hope this review helps anyone thinking of using them. I now am paying 71.00 a month with another competitor (progressive), a price Debbie with state farm was sure I couldn't get with an accident on an old policy that wasn't even in my name."

Blake Pilgrim-Walker

December 17, 2010

5  out of  5
"Billy Upton has been my auto insurance agent for 18 years now and he is the best around. His staff is more than excellent they are the Neiman Marcus of Insurance Agency's. They have provided me with the best of service when ever I need them. In 2007 I got married and I never combined my auto insurance coverage for my vehicle with my husbands,(where we could receive multiple discounts on our policy if we combined them.) because I'm not changing agents,and my husband will not change from his agent either."